Averil Mitchell Wins Outstanding Primary Teacher Award

Ms Averil Mitchell of Hampton Park Primary School has been honoured as one of the state’s top educators at this year’s Victorian Education Excellence Awards.

Member for Narre Warren South Gary Maas, today congratulated Ms Averil Mitchell on being named the winner of the Outstanding Primary Teacher Award as part of the livestreamed 2020 awards ceremony.

The awards recognise inspirational teachers, principals and education support staff who improve schools and support children and young people.

Ms Mitchell, who leads the breadth of student wellbeing, engagement, and inclusion programs at Hampton Park Primary School is being recognised for her implementation of Amplify principles and High Impact Teaching Strategies (HITS) practices across the school to create positive learning environments for all students.  

Ms Mitchell successfully leads the school’s Respectful Relationships program and the Student Voice, Agency and Leadership, Rights and Resilience program, ensuring whole of school positive behaviours and values.

Another local winner was River Gum Primary School in the Outstanding Provision for High-Ability Students – Primary category for their innovative and inclusive teaching practices which provide high-ability students with support for their learning, engagement and well-being for now and into the future.

Five individual awards, six team awards and three specialist awards were given, with winners chosen from a shortlist of 41 finalists.

Victoria’s top public education prize, the Lindsay Thompson Award for Excellence in Education, went to Mordialloc College teacher Andrew McConchie for driving improvements in reading and writing through the introduction of a whole-school literacy program, which saw improved VCE English and NAPLAN results. Andrew also won the Outstanding Secondary Teacher Award.

Winners in all categories are awarded professional development grants of up to $25,000 to support their work in schools. Andrew McConchie also received a further $20,000 grant as the winner of the Lindsay Thompson Award.  

The live-streamed awards ceremony was co-hosted by The Project’s Gorgi Coghlan and included live crosses to the 41 finalists.

From 2021, the Outstanding Secondary Principal Award will be renamed the Colin Simpson Outstanding Secondary Principal Award to honour one of Victoria’s most outstanding and influential secondary principals.

Colin was the founding principal of Richmond High School and a long-serving principal of the Victorian College of the Arts Secondary School. He was regarded as one of Australia’s leading arts educators.

More information about the awards and winners is available at www.education.vic.gov.au/veea

Quotes attributable to Member for Narre Warren South Gary Maas MP

Ms Mitchell is leading the way when it comes to improving education outcomes for students at Hampton Park Primary School and she is thoroughly deserving of this prestigious honour.”

“The work of River Gum Primary School in supporting high-ability students has been incredible, especially with their High Ability and Excellence program under the leadership of Jordan Warren. Principal Roma McKinnon and all of the school staff involved in this achievement deserve to be congratulated.”

“These award winners are representative of the all the fantastic local schools and teachers in our area. All their efforts to teach, support and prepare our students for the future have been extraordinary, particularly this year when dealing with the extra challenges of COVID-19.”

Quotes attributable to Minister for Education James Merlino

“We are building the Education State, where every student can access a great local school and get a great education. This includes having great teachers at the forefront of our classrooms to help young people thrive.”

23 November 2020