Local Community Spirit and Leadership Awards Announced

State Member for Narre Warren South Gary Maas MP proudly announced the winners of this year’s Community Spirit and Leadership Awards.

The Community Spirit and Leadership Awards are presented to students in the Narre Warren South electorate and recognise inspirational young people who make a difference to their communities and an important contribution to the civic life of their schools.

The recipients have shown considerable resilience through the challenges of 2021 with their kindness, enthusiasm, participation, dedication and leadership attributes at school and in the community.

Winners were selected from schools across the community and include: 

Other students include Mia Ashley from Hillsmeade Primary School, Samira Khurrami from Berwick Fields Primary School, Josh Malli from Berwick Chase Primary School, and Lo-Tam (Skyline) Pailegutu from Hampton Park Secondary School.

Mr Maas congratulated the winners of the Community Spirit and Leadership Award for their incredible work and resilience especially in what has been a particularly challenging year for all students.

 These students are all future leaders in our community and their hard work is representative of the hard work of all our students, staff, and teachers.

 Quotes attributable to Member for Narre Warren South Gary Maas MP:

 “It is an honour to have such outstanding young people in our community. I thank them for their efforts and I cannot wait to see the positive contribution these young people go on to make for the Narre Warren South community.”

 “It has certainly been an incredibly challenging year for students in particular and I applaud every young person for their resilience and strength through these times.”

 “The Community Spirit and Leadership Awards always showcase the up and coming leaders of tomorrow who have achieved so much with the support of their schools, teachers and families.”